Becoming a Good Author by being a Good Reader!

Photo Credit | inhabitat.com

I am apart of Good reads dot com and the main reason why is because I need to be accountable to myself on what I have read, what I thought of currently read books, as well as what I want to read in the future!

It is so important that we read as an author.

I prefer reading both good selling books and okay selling books. I compare them with my own style of writing. Secretly, I love to find all their grammar mistakes. It helps me keep my own books in percpective. Also, I love books that keeps me in suspense! I ask why? How did the author do that? What was the situation or writing style that made me linger and drive me to turn the pages?

I pick the book apart and analyze everything. If a book holds my attention long enough to forget my purposes , as an author and not a reader in picking it up, then I think that is an excellent book!

To become a better reader and a writer I need to continue to: read, build vocabulary, dissect sentence structure, find the voice of the author, and interrogate the writing-so-to-speak!

What are your reading goals for the New Year?

Are you reading any books during the Christmas Holidays?

Are you finding any time during the month of December to read or write? 

Melanie’s bookshelf: currently-reading

Pentecost
0 of 5 stars
tagged:
currently-reading
Tessa
0 of 5 stars
tagged:
currently-reading


goodreads.com

Share book reviews and ratings with Melanie, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

 

Melanie’s books

 

The Little House Collection

 

Thank You, Mr. Falker

 

Messages

 

Sneak

 

Life in the Palace

 

Forbidden

 

The Mark

 

Swipe

 

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume V

 

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume IV

 

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume III

 

Past Forward: Volume II

 

For Keeps

 

Ready or Not

 

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume I

 

Past Forward: The Beginning, Episode 1

 

A Cast of Stones

 

Eve

 

The Fault in Our Stars

 

Crossed



Melanie Kilsby’s favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with Melanie, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

