Depression is the matter of the heart and spirit touching everyone, even me!

This topic is very close to me. As a teen, I suffered with this incredibly at times. As an adult, I have also seen it’s snarling face once or twice before….In my book, it is a major topic: What is it?

DEPRESSION

In one of my bouts of depression I wrote this poem to try and explain the viscous grasp it had on me.

A Demon’s Secret 

It grips you steady;

Cripples you, stifles you, makes you weak.

It takes down many;

Immobilizes you, stunts you, has no mercy.

This is Depression,

At its fullest peak!

This is Depression;

The Devil’s greatest Victory!

A poem on Depression,

by Melanie Kilsby



The Bible says, “The human spirit can endure in sickness, but a crushed spirit who can bear?” Proverbs 18:14 NKJV

This is a great Article on Robin Williams and depression here. It effects us all! But, what is alarming is that now it’s effecting kids on such a frightening level. Kids now-a-days are acting upon their depression in grave and damaging ways that result in many deaths, of their own, and/or others in staggering numbers. 

The Youth of today is courageous!

We can’t lose them. We need them to take stands and be heard…just not by death notes that are left and the effects of bullet holes in school hallways! 

….Just to be known, just to be heard…just for others to feel their pain for once. 

Why not NOW!

This is some of their real thoughts!

Many kids, including myself, just needed to be heard, felt, understood and validated that I was worth someones time and efforts! That I wasn’t just shoved aside. In this ME generation..it has become even worse. With more and more things to divide families and seclude childen. It is easy to pass the signs aside for normalicy. But, in the statement above…it is clear, “I’m not ok!”

 

Depression rates only in 2004-2008 **The girls are the highest!

Suicide being the highest percent in girls in 2011!

Contemplating Running away and Runaways being the highest percent combined!

Depression is real…..but so is HOPE and we need it!

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick.” The Bible says and…

“Anxiety in the heart of a man causes depression, but a good word makes it glad.” Proverbs 12:25 (NKJV)

I think the most crucial thing we can do is involve ourselves into peoples lives that we know are struggling in this area. Our tenancy is to pull away and give them time by themselves. Yet, the Bible says that a good word makes it glad. Let God use you to speak into peoples lives. Be there for them. Love them. Listen. Talk and encourage them.

” Answer me speedily. O Lord; My spirit fails! Do not hide your face from me, Lest I be like those who go down into the pit. Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning, For in You do I trust; Cause me to know the way in which I should walk, For I lift my soul to You.” Psalms 143:7-8

We need GOD! 

We need His love and kindness. He really does love and cares for us. The Bible says to cast our burdens on Him because he cares about us! The God of the universe cares about our heart aches and plucks us from the miry clay. What is not to be hopeful in that? Be encouraged and know that you are loved, beautiful, precious, and valued in Christ! 

In my book Reality, Darkness into Light: Darkness into Light, Elisha (who is a Christian) being concerned by someone else’s struggles, put Zoe’s life above hers for a moment and went to listen to Zoe; To be there for her!  What can you do to help? How can you listen? Are you depressed? Call on God. Reach out for help. If there is no one willing to listen, know you are not alone and read the word of God. It is the best resource for your life-It is always there and available, even free online!

I know I had a lot of guilt on me at that time. God says, that we, therefore have NO condemnation! There is hope in the word of God, if you cling to it. I am not saying it will all be peachy and roses, or that depression will automatically go away once you do commit to reading his word or God Himself. But, the Bible is true and worth the read. God is worth the time to consider and reach out to…He did for you-that while you were still in your sins and rejecting Him…He died for you. The least we can do is listen to His words. It says that a good word makes it glad and I believe it! The word gives you the strength to be able to bear until the hurdle it concurred. This too, shall pass! (…is also from the Bible)


I encourage you to pray and seek God. Let Him be your hope and strength. But also, be willing, if it is God’s will, that you be available for those that may need to be heard and loved. Introduce them to the One who can bring them hope; speak a good word into their hearts and offer them the hope that is the good news…Jesus! For He is the resurrection of life and the Saviour to our souls!

Many Blessings,

Reality writer for His Glory!

This post was originally posted at http://www.realitywriter.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

